Travelling..there are apps for that.

The peak winter vacation travel period is just around the corner so it is a good time to look for something to manage your travel details. I use several apps and will review them this week as I prepare for a winter getaway.

First up is Worldmate..it is a web site as well as an app for pretty much every phone known to man. I use the Android version which I find very helpful. Curently the Android version is still a test version so the paid (Gold) version is not available. In the past I used the free version which served my needs as a casual traveller.

I love the fact that there is no need to manually enter the details of my trip, I simply emailed the notification from my Travel Agent to trips@worldmate.com and it extracted the details from the attached PDF file. Once my trip is loaded, Worldmate will also show me maps of my destination as well as directions to the hotel. And if I am worried about the weather Worldmate will show me the upcoming forecast. And just in case your flight is delayed Worldmate will provide Flight Status notifications.

All in all, a very handy app to have. It is available for Android, iPhone, iPod Touch, Symbian and Windows Mobile.

You may also want to take a look at TripIt, another travel planning app with similar features. The free feature set for both apps is pretty much identical so it will boil down to which interface you prefer. TripIt does offer seating advice to help you avoid picking a less favourable seat, one that doesn’t recline for example..it also tells you which are the best seats to pick. As with most versions of Worldmate the paid version offers more features which would be attractive to a business traveller.

Later this week I’ll have a few more travel apps for you.

This entry was posted in Apps, Smartphones. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

